The “Escazú Agreement” opened for signatures

EscazuOn September 27, 2018, fourteen Latin American and Caribbean countries were the first to sign the “Escazú Agreement” on Access to Information, Public Participation and Justice in Environmental Matters, at United Nations headquarters in New York, in the context of the 73rd session of the general debate by the world organization’s General Assembly.

The historic Regional Agreement, the first environmental treaty of Latin America and Caribbean and the only of its kind in the world to emerge from the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development (Río+20), will be available as of today for signature by any State that wishes to do so, for its subsequent ratification. The ratification, acceptance or approval of the agreement may take place after signing; 11 States-party must do so for to enter into effect.

In an emotional ceremony this morning at United Nations Headquarters in New York, Chiefs of State and ministers from the following countries signed the Agreement: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Saint Lucia and Uruguay. In the afternoon, Dominican Republic and Haiti also added their signatures to the legal instrument.

To read more, please click on the link.

We use cookies on our website to support technical features that enhance your user experience.

We also use analytics & advertising services. To opt-out click for more information.